Welcome to the Department of Mechanical Engineering

Professional Bodies

Department has a Student Association namely MESA (Mechanical Engineering Students Association), an intra collegiate Professional Society which works for the benefit of the students of Mechanical Engineering 
Apart from the above the Department has the student’s chapter of the following Professional Bodies. 
Under the aegis of these professional bodies the department organizes various technical events and competitions.



    Mechanical Engineering Students’ Association (MESA) is not a Professional Society but works on the same ground. The objective of MESA is to create opportunities for the students to enhance their knowledge about the latest developments in the technological world, by organizing various events. MESH and SYNERGY are the two events which MESA organizes every alternate semester. Also it takes efforts to organize additional events such as Career guidance, Poster presentation competitions, Seminars, etc. for the benefit of the students.

    The current committee members of MESA are:

    MESA Senior Council Shyam Sakhare Vice President Shubham Patil Vice Secretary Paras Bharambe Vice Jt. Secretary Shalmali Kale Vice Treasurer Deepak Ailani Vice P.R.O. Sponsorship Committee Mrunalini Bhavsar Prachi Mandave Qaif Fangari Magazine Committee Aditi Bhagwat Yogesh Lad Manas Lad Ajinkya Ghorpade MESA Junior Council Council Members:- Mr. Jim Joseph Kurian Vice President Mr. M. M. Farhan Vice Secretary Mr. Pranav Bandaru Vice Joint Secretary Mr. Nikhil Ravichandran Vice Treasurer Mr. Pratik Thakur Vice Pro Magazine Committee:- Mr.Binoy Savio Anthony Mr. C.V. Prashanth Mr.Viraj Karnik Ms. Riviresa Mahata Sponsor Committee:- Mr.Ganesh Chandrababu Ms.Jyotsana Trivedi Ms. Shreya Masal



    The HVAC & R industry is in a boom phase across the globe. There is a tremendous manpower requirement in the industry. To create awareness of the growth and potential of the HVAC & R industry and the opportunities in this field the Indian Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-conditioning Engineers (ISHRAE) started students’ chapter in engineering colleges. ISHRAE student chapter of Fr.C.Rodrigues Institute of Technology, Vashi sponsored by ISHRAE Mumbai chapter was started on 22nd day of September 2007. It maintains high standards and disseminates technical knowledge for the advancement and betterment of the science of Air-conditioning and Refrigeration. The students chapter facilitates the active participation of students in activities like:

    Current Office Bearers of Collegiate Chapter :

    Staff Co-ordinator : Mr. Santosh Chauhan
    Staff Co-ordinator : Mr. Nilesh Varkute
    President : Anup Srivastava
    Secretary : Kishan Patil
    Treasurer : Rahul Rambabu
    Committee Member : Ashish Shelke
    Committee Member : Hardeep Kakad
    Committee Member : Piyush Jain
    Committee Member : Sudarshan Shetty
    Committee Member : Akshay Chalke
    Committee Member : Mayur Shinde

    (Society of Automotive Engineers)

    The Department has a SAE Collegiate Club of SAE, having 81 members. The Club is very active and is planning to organize events to promote its aims and objectives


    SAEINDIA is India's leading resource for mobility technology. As an individual member driven society of mobility practitioners the ownership of SAEINDIA wrests with its members who are Individuals from the mobility community, which includes Engineers Executives from Industry, Government Officials, Academics and Students

    SAEINDIA is an affiliate society of SAE International registered in India as an Indian nonprofit engineering and scientific society dedicated to the advancement of mobility industry in India.

    The founding principle of the SAE International is to unite scientific and technical staff to perform free academic discussions, to dedicate themselves to the cause of prospering the science and technology for automotive vehicles and to make contributions to speed up the modernization of automotive industry.

    SAEINDIA is a professional engineering society whose membership represents practically every engineering and scientific discipline. Its members combine their specialized abilities to further advance the research, development, design, manufacture and utilization of vehicles which operate on land, water, air and space.

    SAEINDIA is divided into six different Sections

    Presently there are 66 collegiate student chapters in Western India Section

    A team of 25 students are participating in BAJA Contest 2010 organised by the SAE for Asian region. This competition involves making an ATV (All Terrain Vehicle) as per the specificaitons laid down by the SAE.

    Staff Co-ordinator : Mr. Girish Dalvi
    Student Chairperson : Nishank Parab
    Vice Chairperson : Shubham Chaudhari
    Student Secretary : Rajat Pandita
    Student Treasurer : Prabhat Mahamuni
    Student Program Chair : Kishan Patil
    Student Publicity Chair : Ameya Bhoir
    Student Membership Chair : Aniket Borude
    Student Reception Chair : Nihar Prabhu